Archive for August 8th, 2007|Daily archive page

Forget Age of Conan or WAR: It’s Time For WolfQuest

I hate to tell everyone this, but we’ve been so blinded by our obsession of WAR, AoC, PotBS, and all these over games that we’ve missed what truly will be the next WoW. I’m honored to be the first in the blogosphere to share this new game with you. It’s called WolfQuest. I won’t go into details, since the video explains it all. *Shakes with anticipation* we can only sit and wait until this beauty is released!

~Kanthalos

Brief EQ2 Update

Since I ranted so much about getting my EQ2 account up and going again, I figured I’d give a little update on what’s gone on since I got in. This is really fragmented so I’ll just break everything into bullets.

  • I’ve started playing on Befallen since Tipa is there. I’m having a great time so far in Greater Feydark since it’s my first time through really. My Illusionist is a lot of fun to play, but I’m also feeling the pull of the wizard, so I may end up going with that before I get TOO invested in this character (now at level 17.) I’m also interested in making a Fury, so who knows.
  • I’m really surprised by how easy it is to come upon money so quickly in EQ2. Items sell very quickly on the market (if priced accordingly) and you can change the price of an item whenever you want, which is awesome. I’ve made probably 80g now at level 17, so I have plenty (plus Tipa gave me some.) I’ve gotten some decent gear already, but also need to upgrade a lot of it.
  • One thing I am worried about is that it sounds like Befallen is a pretty well-established server with not a lot of mid-ranged players, so I may be on my own for a good portion of the time. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy soloing and I’m a soloer by nature, but I want to be able to find other people if I need to, and I enjoy at least seeing another person in the zone with me from time to time đŸ™‚ Tipa said she has characters at a few different levels, so she should be able to help me out, too.
  • I’m interested to get started in crafting. I hear its a lot of fun and really deep, so I’m curious to try that out as I’ve never really done any crafting other than in WoW *yawn*. I’ll probably be a scribe(?) or a tailor as they’ll be most beneficial for a caster.
  • I joined a guild last night before I logged off, so we’ll see how that goes. I think they are level 51 with 149 members, so not too shabby.

    I may add some things to this list as I think of them, but here are the main points so far. I still have a week or so of work before I head back to school and I can devote more time to playing… I can’t wait.

~Kanthalos

Why Aren’t There More Live Events?

I’ve never really understood why live events in MMO’s are so few and far between. I’m sure many of you can recall most if not all of the live events that you’ve taken part of in different games, clearly making them some of our most memorable experiences in online games, so why is it that they usually only take place once or twice a year? And no, Blizzard, I don’t mean filling Moonglade with a festival and a dog that respawns for like three days, and I don’t mean adding Halloween and Christmas decorations to Ironforge. Those are neat and all, but they aren’t the same as one-time live events. I’ll never forget the time Gaerlan showed up in Dereth for the first time controlled by the dev’s and proceeded to slaughter any players who came near him. One server nearly took him out (though this wasn’t supposed to happen, hehe) but this was absolutely awesome to see. Many more events like this took place during my stay in Dereth, and while none of them were quite this memorable, I will remember them all for a good time to come.

That said, why aren’t there more live events in MMO’s? I realize this can be difficult for games like WoW with some 250 odd servers. This simply means that you can’t control what’s going on with dev’s, but they can certainly throw something in that captures the attention of the entire server and makes them take a break from their monotonous raiding schedule for an hour or two. All I’m really trying to say is that most MMO’s are missing out on awesome opportunities to get the players really involved in what’s going on around them, and make them believe (at least for a while) that it’s more than just another server of an artificial world.

~Kanthalos