Brief Mythos Review

**I see that this is still getting quite a bit of traffic, so I’m going point you to the post I just wrote here with much more up-to-date and accurate information about the game.**

Well, I spent about four more hours in Mythos today and I must say, it’s pretty enjoyable. I’ll take a little time to go over some of the things I’ve taken note of.

  • The graphics are pretty smooth, and end up looking quite similar to WoW.
  • Customization is pretty poor. You can’t change anything about your character. All you do is choose which class you want (Just a Pyromancer and Bloodletter) and your appearance shifts slightly, but that’s all you get. This will likely change as it gets closer to release.
  • I’ve started a pyromancer, which so far has been pretty fun. When you level, you get 5 attribute points to distribute in standard attributes (strength, wisdom, etc.) and one skill point to put into a variety of skills in three sub-categories. Like I said, it’s fun to play, though there’s nothing really unique about it.
  • Combat is extremely fast-paced as expected in this style of game (Diablo 2, Titan Quest, etc.)
  • Lots of quests, which are the main source of leveling. They are actually somewhat interesting.
  • You start with three locations you can travel between, and you either find maps, buy maps, or take quests to open up new locations to go to. Actually a rather interesting system IMO.
  • Socketable items are in the game, and crafting will be soon.
  • Load times can be annoying, and you can lock up loading zones, but all in all it’s not that bad for a beta.

Most of the time while playing, I’d almost forget it was in beta. I must say, for a free to play MMO, this is extremely well done. I’ll definitely be playing this after release.

~Kanthalos

4 comments so far

  1. Bildo on

    I gotta agree here. It’s way more fun than another free dungeon crawler, Dungeon Runners. It has the fun of Diablo 2 and TQ, some sort of tangible glee in whacking things, that DR was missing.

    Look for JoBildo, Bildojo, and Bildo. 🙂

  2. […] earlier, I stumbled on something that may be the death of me! I was reading Kanthalos’ latest post about a free MMORPG called Mythos that seems to be currently in beta. That game looked interesting, […]

  3. […] Here are a few posts I’ve written about Mythos if you want to check them […]

  4. […] earlier, I stumbled on something that may be the death of me! I was reading Kanthalos’ latest post about a free MMORPG called Mythos that seems to be currently in beta. That game looked interesting, […]


Leave a Reply

