If this isn’t funny, I don’t know what is…

Time to get a little side-tracked. 

My fiancee pointed this out to me over at McSweeney’s and I just had to share it with everyone.  For those of you who’ve never been to McSweeney’s its basically a compilation of lists that people make for random things.  As creative writing majors, we couldn’t help but bust a gut for this one.  Here it is.

 Comments I’ve Recieved on my Short Story from My Creative-Writing Classmates.

BY ROBERT HINDERLITER

– – – –

  • A hackneyed, masturbatory miscarriage of a story.
  • You have managed to coldly and persistently rape the English language for 17 pages. Congratulations.
  • The fact that this story exists is the ultimate argument against Creationism.
  • Your embarrassingly ineffectual and flaccid prose made me feel uncomfortable.
  • This smugly written tripe is an affront to the craft of writing and fails to meet even the most generous definition of adequacy.
  • Truly abysmal. Maybe singularly so.
  • You had some nice details.

For any of you who’ve been in a writing workshop, you’ll see the beauty that is this list 🙂 

~Kanthalos

1 comment so far

  1. Heartless_ on

    It’s like when your English professor reads off a professional author’s work, but tells everyone it is a former student’s work. Everyone in class will immediately start picking it apart. Then the professor drops the bomob, “Hey guys this is a real author’s work.”, and students start pretending to understand it.

    I sort of laughed when my English professor read Asimov’s short story “The Last Question”. I was probably the only person that recognized it.


Leave a Reply

