Dungeon Runners Vs. Mythos

So Lars asked me to give Dungeon Runners a shot so that I could do a side-by-side comparison of both DR and Mythos, so I have. That said, I have played Mythos far more than I have DR, so this is a rather basic comparison. Part of this was the fact that after reaching level six in DR (took me about three hours or so, give or take)I was already starting to notice that you needed a subscription to use the best gear, so I decided that was good enough. Here goes.

Graphics
Both games have the ability to look pretty good. Dungeon Runners focuses a little more on the detail of things, such as flora, and anti-aliasing and the like, so you can bump things up to make it look pretty nice. Mythos is much smoother though, but there isn’t quite as much detail in character models and gear and the like. I guess I’ll give the edge to Dungeon Runners, but they are both good. Mythos is a bit more cartoony, while DR is a bit more realistic.

Camera Angles/Controls
I definitely have to give this to Mythos. You never actually have to change the angles in Mythos, it does it on its own, but its pretty much seamless and knows exactly what to do. When I started up DR, I noticed in about 10 seconds that this was different. I think the best example is that when you use the arrows to rotate your character (there is no mouse rotation available) your character actually rotates partially along with it unless you aren’t moving. So if you rotate the camera 180 degrees while running straight north, you will either be running NE or E (or W depending on which way you rotated it) C’mon, you don’t connect the camera rotation with the direction your character is moving. This frustrated me so much that I eventually just used the arrows to move around, which wasn’t the greatest either (side note: it took nearly a full second sometimes for my movements to kick in. This was terribly annoying while trying to run away from a fight or simply changing directions frequently, sticking out like a sore thumb.)

Maps
The map/minimap in Mythos is done so much better in Mythos than DR. For one thing, when you open the full map in DR, you can’t still move your character, while you can in Mythos. It also seemed like you could zoom out further in the Mythos minimap and see more of the area around you.

In the bigger scheme of things, Dungeon Runners wins. I’m referring to actual locations/tilesets/etc.. Mythos currently suffers from a severe lack of tilesets with only one type of outdoors area, and probably 6 or so indoors. Looking at some YouTube videos and screenshots, I can see that DR has many more environments. Mythos also only has three “towns” in the game currently. Only one can really be considered a city with your stash and a multitude of vendors, while the other two simply have one vendor and some quests. I’m convinced that Mythos will include more as they near release (not sure when that’s supposed to be.)

Drops
I’m going with Mythos, here. In DR it can be quite difficult to actually see the gear on the ground, although you can use the alt key to bring up a label. That said, in Mythos the label already shows up on the screen, though its small enough that it doesn’t interfere with play.

On a material level, DR brought comedy to the table here. For instance, very fast weapons are labeled Ludicrous, while very slow weapons are labeled Grandma. Also, on the comedic note, as you put points into attributes your title changes, so you might become a “studios noobie obsidian mage” or something like that. I didn’t really get the chance to see a lot of the gear in DR, but a lot of the models get recycled in Mythos, simply being more powerful as you progressed. DR definitely wins the “cool weapon/armor” category, btw.

Quests
Both seem to have a wide variety of quests (at least in early levels, Mythos not so much after level 10.) I must say the quests in Mythos were a little more interesting and fun to read. The good number of them were still “kill ten foozles/rats” but they still weren’t dry enough that you simply looked at the objective.

Well those are the topics I noted so far. If there’s anything else you’d like me to compare, I can probably do it, at least briefly unless it involves high level DR content. To summarize, I was very frustrated when starting DR, but eventually I got over that and saw that it was a pretty fun game, albeit one that almost requires that you pay the $5/mo to play. Mythos was much smoother, both in terms of graphics and gameplay, but doesn’t have as much variety in content as DR, but again, I think this is largely due to the fact that it’s still in beta. My personal, subjective choice is Mythos for reasons I’ve said and a lot of the finer details I haven’t mentioned, but I do have respect for Dungeon Runners and you should at least give it a shot and see if it’s worth the $5/mo. If you are in need of hack ‘n’ slash, these are two very good options.

~Kanthalos

2 comments so far

  1. Lars on

    Thanks for the review. Like you, I didn’t get past level 6 in Dungeon Runners. The controls were just too awkward. Also, I’m not sure I like the hack and slash game play. There was no depth. I just ran around hitting the right mouse button over and over again. That grew old rather fast.

    Also, my inventory filled really quickly, which became a mini-game in itself trying to sort through what to keep and what to drop. Not a fun game, mind you.

  2. kanthalos on

    In terms of space, you have far more in Mythos, both for your actual pack as well as storage.


Leave a Reply

