Is There Something Wrong With Me?

As you all know, I have been playing quite a lot of Mythos lately. It’s your typical hack ‘n’ slah game without a whole lot of depth, and a lack of variety in terms of maps and creatures. So why then am I finding myself drawn more to this game than to EQ2? Before I got my beta invite I was perfectly happy and content with EQ2, and I will probably end up going back to it very shortly, but should this even be an issue? Maybe I’m simply growing a bit tired of the typical fantasy MMO (that’s not to say I’m over it) and I just need a bit of a break, or maybe it’s that I enjoy these types of games (Diablo 2, Titan Quest, Mythos, DR, etc.) and I haven’t played them as much as I would like to. I’m not sure exactly, but I do think it’s strange that as of right now, I’m more excited to play a free-to-play (upon release) beta game than I am a 3-year-old well-established, much improved MMO that could well be the best on the market right now.

~Kanthalos

P.S. If you used to read my posts earlier in the morning, I apologize.  I was getting to work at 7 o’clock then, and now that I’m back at school, I typically get up at about 9:30, and will try to write something between then and my first classes (12:30 or 3:00 depending) so again, I hope you don’t mind 🙂

2 comments so far

  1. tipa on

    I thought DR was hilarious in beta. I might try it again — but if so, I will pay the five bucks to use the good gear.

    If you happen across another Mythos key, let me know 🙂

  2. Aaron on

    I just started playing/testing Mythos a few days ago. It’s Flagship, so I’m not surprised I enjoy it. But I am surprised that I enjoy it more than I enjoyed Titan Quest, despite the infrequent drops and less variety of enemies.

    I’m trying to pin down the reasons. My best guess so far is:
    One, the music and sound effects are better. There’s a feeling of impact when I strike an enemy, which Titan Quest ruined with the ragdoll death animations.
    And two,

    …ok, so I haven’t come up with another reason yet, but there has to be one. There just has to be!

    Then again, maybe it’s just timing. I should reload TQ to compare.


Leave a Reply

