MMOADD = Not Real

I was just reading through the comments on Cuppy’s page, and The Hiram Key thought that the reason lots of us bloggers constantly fall in and out of love with EQ2 was due to the fact that we all have MMOADD. Bildo countered this by saying that there was some intangible flaw with EQ2 that doesn’t quite grab us the way that WoW and other games might. I’m more inclined to side with Bildo here, not just for the relation to EQ2, but any MMO in which we find ourselves losing our desire to play. I believe that one of the most important things that makes an MMO what it is is this idea of loyalty. Every MMO out there is striving to gain your undivided time and money. They don’t want you jumping around spending half your time with one and half your time with another.

Remember when AC and EQ were THE MMO’s on the scene, and how loyal each gamer was to whichever they chose? You hardly ever saw one playing the other. The problem is that now that there are many different MMO’s to test, when we see flaws in the one we play, we try something else out to fill that void. Ultimately, if we found one we were content with, we would stick with that for a couple years or so before we moved on to something else, not flopping around like a fish out of water.

I played Asheron’s Call for four years, and it was my full intention to find another MMO after I tired of it that held me that long again. Granted, it was like the first time with everything, you are always seeking that same gratification, and you aren’t going to find it, but I always intended for MMO’s that followed to be long-term games that I played. I found that with WoW, which I have played on and off (mostly on) since release, but since then I simply haven’t found something I wanted to dive into with the same passion as the first two. Honestly, I don’t know that I will in the near future, with the possible exception of three games (Spellborn, Warhammer, and Stargate Worlds.)

I’m starting to get a little side-tracked, though. The point is that I, and I believe most other MMO gamers, have no intention to spread themselves out over three or four games (unless it is somewhat journalistic in nature) but would much rather be completely happy and content with one game that satisfied all of their wants and needs in an MMO.

~Kanthalos

2 comments so far

  1. brackishwater on

    You make a couple of good points to justify us all having MMOADD. First kiss, lack of qualities, and state of the market are all reasons for some of us to jump ship and try the material next door but I think that some of us are waiting for the real evolution of MMOs.

    Systems evolve and some are adopted and some, like the dew claw of a dog, are left hanging useless and taking up space and programming time. I jump around when I find the game simply does not offer the fun factor anymore. Most of the time I never return unless beckoned or swooned enough by the publisher. Whether that is ADD for MMOs I don’t know(b/c I hate psychiatry) but I am looking for the cure my friend.

  2. Tesh on

    We likely wouldn’t have called it ADD to jump between several different games ten years ago. What is it about MMOs that engender such comparisons? I suspect that it’s the overwhelming time commitment, fueled by the subscription model. When you’re paying for the privilege to play, you’ve got to milk the most out of the game as possible. That means playing a single subscription game as much as possible to maximize the return on investment. Spreading your attention means you’re paying more for each unit of game time per game.

    There’s never going to be a perfect game. Expecting players to commit to a monogamous game relationship with any single MMO is unrealistic and somewhat hubristic. The impulse to look around for greener grass is less indicative of ADD as it is of the imperfection of the games and their business models.


Leave a Reply

