Questing Quandries

As you know I decided to resub to World of Warcraft, and also that I wanted to check out the new starting areas of the blood elves and the draenei, so that’s exactly what I did.  I took a draenei paladin through level 12 and a blood elf priest through level 7.  I’ll get into more details later about getting back into WoW, but for now I’m going to focus on the quests.  I decided that I should really read through all of the quests as I came to them.  I was actually quite surprised by how well done most of them were.  They were pretty interesting and well worth the read.  I also found myself more inclined to complete all of the quests because I knew the story behind them.  That said, we all know the downfall of questing, being fed-ex and kill ten rats quests.  Sure, there are tons of excellent quests out there, but we all know that these two quest types make up a good 70-80% of all quests.  I’m obviously not a programmer, but it doesn’t seem like it would be all that difficult to do a little extra programming and snazz things up a bit, though.

I’ll be a little more specific about one quest that comes to mind now.  It’s not the best or the worst, but the basic rundown is a dwarf whose father told him about some ancient relics in a naga camp that he’s been wanting, so he hires me to go and get them.  When I got there, I found that they were simply orbs sitting on pedestals spread out throughout the camp, and you had to collect something like 6 or 10 of them.  Rather than make this a simple fetch-and-delivery quest, they could have had some relics (that actually looked neat) being guarded by three or four nagas.  There are hundreds upon hundreds of possibilities of how to do this.  Maybe you have to go talk to someone the dwarf knows who has a collection of smoke bombs, so you go and get one.  You go to the nagas and use the bomb like an aoe spell that you select the location.  The smoke effect last for 10 seconds, stunning them, and it takes three seconds to pick up the relics.  Once you have them you have seven seconds to run out of there as fast as you can.  Once the nagas come to, they call out to everyone around them and they all start chasing you down.  The less naga you initially attract by running out of there means the less damage you are going to take during your escape, so some skill would be involved as well.  This doesn’t seem like it would be too hard to implement, and it would be much more exciting, and like I said, this is just one of many, many different options.

When reading through these quests, I have little doubt in the creativity of the writers to come up with more interesting scenarios, which leaves me thinking that it has to do with the capabilities and time restraints of the game designers.  Like I said before, I have little to no idea what goes into programming a quest like that, and I don’t want to look like an idiot, but if this is too much to ask for for the majority of quests, most of them are still well worth reading and very interesting, I’m just hoping that soon enough more emphasis will be put on fading these two types of quests out of our games for those that are more original and entertaining.

~Kanthalos

1 comment so far

  1. Bildo on

    The Outlands are filled with greatly written quests, and tons of very well designed ones… but ultimately the majority are kill this or collect these.

    I wonder if someone will ever think of a way to disguise these better or get rid of them?

    Luckily, the combat in WoW is decent enough to make them interesting, especially if you push your character’s abilities (like taking on a group of 4-5 even level mobs with my hunter).

    🙂


Leave a Reply

