On Graphics

I went home last night to visit my family and watch the Colts game, but more importantly, to see my brothers new computer run Vanguard.  I was utterly shocked by the amount of detail that went into the graphics in this game.  While I knew the graphics were astounding, I couldn’t believe the degree of detail on everything.  Games like this are fun to look at for a while, but they also present a serious problem for me.  When everything becomes this photo-realistic, I tend to notice every little flaw, which irritates me far more than it would in say World of Warcraft.  For instance, when he was riding around on his horse and jumped, his back stayed perfectly straight, and I couldn’t help but think how unrealistic this is.

While these minor details do irritate me, I find that the thing that upsets me most is that without a top-of-the-line computer (and router as he quickly discovered) these games just don’t look right (at least in my estimation.)  This was my biggest problem with EQ2.  I would watch him play on his computer with the settings maxed out before heading home to play on my PC that’s two years old, where everything was slightly blurry and distorted.  I would much rather play a game that sets the bar a little bit lower but does so in an excellent manner than one that sets it so high that only 5% or so of all players can run it at the max settings and play it the way it’s supposed to be played.  Yes, I had other problems with EQ2 that lead me to stop playing, but this was the ultimate deciding factor to be sure.

I’m honestly not sure whether the point of this post is to note the incredible graphics Vanguard has, or the problems that can come alongside them.  In any case, I’m pleased with the graphics of World of Warcraft for the time being, at least until a better balance between realistic graphics and realistic actions is found.

~Kanthalos

6 comments so far

  1. Theodric on

    This blog suggests player animations. Vanguard has pretty graphics, terrible player animations. On the other hand, if EQ2 has gotten anything spot on it is player animations – by far the most realistic in any MMO Ive played to date.

  2. kanthalos on

    You’re definitely right about the player animations in EQ2 in that they are really well done. I just couldn’t play it when I knew what it COULD look like vs. what it looked like on my PC (which was the peak of the problems with many others that I had.)

  3. daily fun on

    Guess who just brightened up my day? 🙂 Thanks a lot!

  4. Lars on

    I guess I’m the odd one out who doesn’t like EQ2’s animations, especially running animations. In combat, most animations end up jumping from one to another without finishing. And bad clipping in emotes is almost the norm rather than the exception. But I still prefer EQ2 over WOW despite the flaws.

  5. Gdub on

    The balance I think you’re looking for may be coming up with Warhammer Online. It seems to combine some of the realism of EQ2 with the cartoony look of WoW. At least, in screen shots.

  6. Jes on

    i realize this post is old, but im commenting anyway. in eq2 there is a myriad of ways to tweak your settings to get the game to run on nearly any pc that isnt bare bones. i bought my pc 3-4 years ago and it still runs well for me.

    while in game, pressing alt-o will bring up options, in the display area there are loads of choices and things to mess with. if you just click on the performance-performance profile and choose something there, it will run like crap! you must customize! it really isnt hard. One thing you can do to get it to play smoother is put the complex shader down and the rendering distance down a bit. i have my texture and lighting maxed, other setting i turn down since it is mostly the lighting and the texture that makes it look good. did you ever play around with the settings??

    i agree that there are some animations that are just awful (they changed the horse animation and its SO stiff and awful now, i dont know what they were thinking) but overall i really like them. but then its the game play i like best, the looks arent as important to me. heck, i still like runescape!


Leave a Reply

