Wrath of the Lich King Release Date Thoughts

I just got a chance to read Cameron’s post about this, and I got to thinking everything through a little bit. Here are a few things that have helped me through my prediction, which I will get to later:

Patch 2.4
I am assuming that patch 2.4 is going to be released in 3-4 weeks, which means mid-to-late March. I am going to further assume that it will take about a month for each server to fully unlock everything on Sunwell Isle, meaning mid-to-late April. Add another three months or so for all of the players to satisfy themselves on the new content, and allow at least the top 1,000 guilds or so a good shot at Kil’Jaeden. This leaves us at the Blizzard Invitational held in Paris in late June, where a playable version of WotLK will be available.

AoC and WAR
Both of these games are set to have a release date which will likely come between May and June. Both games are experiencing much hype from potential players. Blizzard isn’t likely to release their product soon after these games have been released, which means that they will either want to release prior to these games launching or they will do so several months after.

Beta
Blizzard has stated that they are unsure whether they will require a closed beta for this expansion, and to be perfectly honest, I don’t think they do. I think they know enough about their game and aren’t making enough changes that it would require a beta to take place. This will cut down significantly on the development time.

With all of this said, it all depends on a couple of things. How far along are they in the process now? If they are touting a playable version of the expansion in late June, does this mean that they will have a finished product, and they are pulling a PR stunt to make it sound like it will be “closed to finished” or does that mean it will be close enough to show players while still taking several months to work out the kinks and give players time to try out AoC and WAR, only to decide they would rather play the expansion come September or October? These thoughts coupled with Blizzard’s notorious track record of pushing back the release dates on their products makes it all a shot in the dark, but if I had to make a prediction, I’d have to say… September.

~Kanthalos

*Obviously WAR’s release date got pushed back. So far back, in fact, that I don’t think it changes anything about this prediction other than the fact that WotLK will be released sooner than WAR.

10 comments so far

  1. Robert on

    There hasn’t been enough info about Wrath in order to make a release date in September or October in my opinion.
    We still know very very little and my guess is we won’t even see it this year.

  2. kanthalos on

    I don’t know about that. We’re starting to see a lot of little tidbits on the WoW site about reputation, creatures, and zones. Again, this is nothing more than my prediction after looking at the facts, and I could be completely wrong, so we’ll see đŸ™‚

  3. Robert on

    I guess I’m just a bit bitter.
    I had a LOT of fun in World of Warcraft before the Burning Crusade came out.

    Burning Crusade implemented a lot of good stuff, but the what I hated more than anything else is how it made obsolete every piece of equipment you’ve ever gotten.
    Not only did it make you basically throw away everything you’ve ever worked hard to get, but it also made all the old zones/dungeons obsolete too.

    Thus when I was playing Burning Crusade, whenever I went to do something more than once to try and get a piece of loot, I always said to myself ‘Remember Rob, in just a few months this will be JUNK and your time here will have meant nothing unless your having fun or this allows you to go somewhere else in the mean time’

    In the end I left WoW because I just can’t stand know that everything I’m working hard for will just get thrown away.

  4. simon on

    well to you robert i would have to say that in essence that is what progression is. You can’t possibly tell me if a new expansion came out and gave no new gear what so ever and just new zones and no new levels that you would honestly think its worth getting. That is what progression is, you work towards tier 6 now so when tier 7 comes out and you can get that gear, and tier 7 then makes tier 6 usless, that is what progression is

  5. Shaodw on

    Yes… it’s progression. It is also the primary reason you can’t go from tier 3 to tier 6 too. You have to progress to the next best gear. I, too, replaced tier 3 with green drops in the first 2 zones of outlands. I even put the old stuff in my bag so I can at least say that I fought and got it in the first place, but then one day, I disenchanted it all as my new gear was soooooooooooo much better. Progression is the new key to this game and you can’t bring a guy, even into kara with all greens on and expect him to perform. You need to work to get your gear and that is the way the game has tried to be in the past, but now is. IMO… I like the game more than before.

  6. chris on

    IMO this game is awesome, i have quit and rejoined this game many times, it always has a way of drawing me back, bettween the new instances and now a new expansion pack, i mean if i have to forfit my old gear, why not? you will obviously be giving it up for something that is better

  7. Nihil on

    I’d say late 2008. Around October, or November. If they didn’t release it in 2008, do you know the hordes of people (no pun intended) that would piss off?
    No, it’s 2008 alright.
    As for the items becoming obsolete, they should give people an extra bank spot for each epic/legendary item they have each time they release an expansion. I couldn’t keep most of my lvl60 epics due to lack of space, and that pissed me off.
    Also, I sure hope they’re not too lazy to re-use item models with different colors again. We pay to play every month, so why should they use recycled material?

  8. […] = Faux Posted August 1, 2008 Filed under: WAR, WoW | While I can understand that my WotLK release date post has become by far my most popular, it actually turned out to be untrue. Mike Morhaime recently said […]

  9. bsbhfdhhn on

    7WTpqy drwwisrerktt, [url=http://otnujblgxjhj.com/]otnujblgxjhj[/url], [link=http://pcxfnexxdfes.com/]pcxfnexxdfes[/link], http://ywgbaziwwcca.com/

  10. Band Saw For Sale on

    Yesterday found the sitewhere Band Saws For Sale are at cheap price.


Leave a Reply

