LotRO and CoX

It was around 10 o’clock last night when I started wondering how long I had left on my subscription for LotRO.  I opened up my account page and found out that it was set for today, which sortof surprised me.  I had taken most of the last week off from playing it though since I was working on Flash and Dreamweaver along with some other things to keep me busy so that sort of sped things up a bit.  I have greatly enjoyed my most recent stint in LotRO, much moreso than I did in beta and last year when I bought it.  That said, I wondered whether I had enjoyed myself enough to pay for another month.  I had tried several guilds but was unable to find one that seemed like a good fit (though the people were nice enough.) I was also feeling a bit stuck at level 36 since most of the quests were above my level and many of those were fellowship quests to boot, so I was a bit frustrated on that front (even though I know it would open up after sticking the next level or two out.)  It’s a beautiful game with an excellent feel to it, but I wasn’t sure that I was ready to pay for another month just yet. I cleared out my mailbox, cleaned up my inventory, and logged out to unsubscribe.  There is a good chance that I was re-subscribe in the near future, but I wanted to go back and take a look at another game that I haven’t played in a while.

City of Heroes/Villains

I saw that they were offering a free 14-day trial (not as long as it should be! hehe) on MMORPG.com, so I signed in and created an account.  I actually have a copy of City of Villains with an account created, but I didn’t have it installed on this computer, the discs are in another town, and I’d completely forgotten my account information.  It was kind of a nice feeling hopping back into this game (even with a new character.)  They definitely have created a very nice feel to the world (either on the heroes or villains side) that fits perfectly with the theme of the game.  I also like that I don’t constantly have to upgrade my gear or deal with a massive inventory that I then have to sift through to either sell to the vendor or put up on the auction house.  One thing I really want to focus on this time around is the questing (which is usually a big focus of mine anyways.)  Before I really dig into that, though, I want to hit level 10 so I have at least a decent idea of what I think works and doesn’t work.

Well, that’s all I’ve got for now.  I might be back later with something, but I’ve been a blogging maniac the last couple days (getting back into the swing of things!) and I’m gonna take some time to actually play some games.

~Kanthalos

2 comments so far

  1. Tipa on

    Why weren’t you on my blogroll 😛 Well, you’re there now and on my feed. I think I assumed you were there. Wish you’d mentioned it. Obviously this is the kind of blog I love reading :))))

    Fantastic work!

  2. kanthalos on

    I actually noticed, but I didn’t want to say anything. I thought maybe you’d taken me off since I hadn’t been posting much. Well, I’m back in the game and thanks for adding me! 🙂


Leave a Reply

