Overworld – Like It or Not…?

Well, as I said late last week, the new overworld patch for Mythos has been released. After they fixed one big problem, things have been pretty smooth, but how are people liking it? Most people are pretty glad to have it, and I’m in the same boat. With that said, I don’t feel that it made the game leaps and bounds better or made it seem like a completely different game. There are still a great deal of the same elements now as there were before, just with some modifications. I’ll dive in and hopefully you can follow along.

Many people say or claim that this is making the game much more like WoW, but this is actually pretty far from the truth. Yes, there is now an actually world that you can run around in, but this alone doesn’t make it a “WoW clone.” For one thing, WoW has the vast majority of its content outside, and a great deal of quests and activities to do outdoors as well. This really isn’t the case in Mythos, even with the new overworld. Almost all of the quests are still based around the randomly generated maps that you enter. I understand that the big emphasis was on getting this implemented smoothly and also that it is just a beta product, but what is the point in making this new improvement if you aren’t really going to take full advantage of it by implementing quests outdoors?

Also, the world is rather small which I don’t understand. To go from corner to corner of the map takes about 6-8 minutes, which should give you a rough idea of how big it is. Also, there are seven anchor shrines littered throughout the zone which you can teleport to and from, which means that you can be anywhere you need to be within 2-3 minutes of running from one of these anchor shrines. With that in mind, why not have things spread further apart with a bigger map? If transportation is still relatively fast and easy, why not make it so that getting from point a to point b take five minutes instead of two or three and have a much bigger map full of things to do? I guess this wouldn’t be so much of an issue for me if I knew that there were going to be 6-8 of these zones at release, but they’ve already said that they weren’t planning on adding more than three. Also, by the time they do have three zones implemented, my mind could completely change, but right now, I feel like Greenreach should have been bigger and more spread out.

Combat in the overworld is for the most part not necessary. The mobs are too spread out and there aren’t really enough of them to make grinding viable, so this basically means they are there almost solely for atmospheric purposes. However, there is the occasional champion running around that is worth killing to hopefully find a nice piece of gear. There aren’t an unique mobs or quests that can only be done in the overworld right now, though.

The map could use some more detail. The static dungeons that are there for quests don’t show up on the overall map unless you have a quest there, so unless you know where it is or happen to run by it and see it on your mini-map, then it can be tough finding certain locations. It’s not a big deal, as most of the time when you finish the quest there, you don’t need to go back, but if they are going to remain available for players to enter, why not have them show up on the map to find them?

Rune stones and rune gates are the new equivalent to random regular and epic maps. The major difference is that they don’t disappear if you or your party members all leave. You need to run back to the rune gate, but the last one opened will always be available to you. Once you are finished with one of these and want to use another rune stone, you simply click on the gateway and select which stone you want to use. There are four rune gates of different colors and likewise four sets of rune stones. The color seems to be an indicator of the level the stone is good for. Blue seems to be the lowest (1-6) with yellow and green (1-6, 3-16) in the middle and red (3-16, 14-26) being the highest. This leads me to believe that the effective cap for the game right now is about 30, not that this is all that important, but worth mentioning I think.

Combat is basically the same. They’ve made some alterations to pyromancer and bloodletter I believe, but I haven’t really checked them out. I went with my old blade breaker build for now, which I’ve gotten to level 17. No real changes there.

Stonehill is pretty neat now. It’s the only part of the world that has it’s own instance (other than the dungeons, obviously.)

I haven’t really gotten a chance to do any crafting other than a few of the quests. I hear it got a bit of an overhaul so I’ll have to give it a look later. I’ve been having enough trouble getting enough money to buy potions and charms that I don’t really have the money to buy materials for crafting right now, but I’m finally starting to save some of the gold that I’m getting along the way.

So there was an extremely choppy rundown of what I think of the overworld so far. Basically, I enjoy it, and I think it makes the world seem a little more visible and not so divided and chopped up. That said, I think there is a lot that needs to be done to make it more appealing and worthwhile. For instance, the zone should be quite a bit bigger, as it feels smaller than a WoW zone and there is only one right now. Also, the developers said that they created the world themselves, so why not put it to use? Why not add some quests and unique mobs and such to make it worth exploring? If these two things are done (especially the second) then I will be very happy with this change, but right now I’m pretty “meh” about it.

As I figure more things out about the changes, I’ll either write up new posts or mark them with a *.

~Kanthalos

2 comments so far

  1. Thallian on

    “To go from corner to corner of the map takes about 6-8 minutes, which should give you a rough idea of how big it is” Wow thats small, still a small one can be very neat nonetheless, like the first 3 Zelda games! Thanks for the good info Kanth đŸ™‚

  2. heartless_ on

    I played around with the Overworld and I’m still not impressed with Mythos. I don’t know what it is. The first hour of the game, way back when, was fast and fun. Then the action was slowed down. Now it all just feels like a big muddled mess.

    Oh well, feels like they are really really far behind on the game now. I guess I will have to wait for them to come up with something a bit more complete before giving much of an opinion.

    Overall, for a free game, it is well executed, but lacks any vision currently and thus becomes just another fantasy hack’n’slash.


Leave a Reply

