What Should I Do?

Now that I’m back in EQ2, I’m really left with a dilemma on several things. Basically, it’s two fold in that I don’t know whether I should keep playing one of the characters that I’ve already gotten to 18/24 (I have a 25 wizard too but on a server I have no interest in playing on) or whether I should start over. My 18 is on Befallen where Tipa is (as far as I know) with her guild Nostalgia the Guild, and my 24 is on Antonia Bayle. This is a popular server, but I don’t really know anyone playing on there right now. I’ve also started a character on Guk in case I want to hook up with Revelry and Honor which sounds like a lot of fun, too.

In terms of where I should start over or keep going, I really don’t want to start over unless it is with the toon on Guk that I just created. He’s a level 5 warlock and I don’t know whether I’ll like him or not, but I’d already played a wizard to 24 and 25, and an illusionist to 18. I like both of those classes a lot (as you can see, I prefer the caster classes in EQ2 for some reason) but I don’t want to start one over again for some reason. It’s sort of tough restarting with a mid-level toon, though, especially if you aren’t very familiar with the game. In WoW, it wouldn’t be a problem at all, but when your highest level character is the one you want to jump back in with, it’s tough to know what to do or where to go, especially if you quit because you didn’t like any of the zones you were currently playing in or were feeling stuck.

As for where to play, this is tough, too. One of my biggest problems with EQ2 the past two times that I’ve played it is that I really felt no sense of community. I didn’t have a good guild or group of friends to play around with. It felt more like a single player game with a really big world. I’m afraid that if this happens again, I’ll be done with EQ2 for good, so I really need to find a good group of players who would like to have me. I don’t want to be babied or have my hand held really, I just want to have a group of players to socialize with and help me out with advice or a quest from time to time, nothing more than a good guild SHOULD be.

I’m also not asking anyone to fight over me because, well, I’m not worth it 🙂 This is especially true in a game that I’m not familiar with and am struggling to enjoy. I’m just writing because I would like some advice from you all about what I should do or ways to make starting up again easier. That’s all for now, but let me know if you have anything to help make EQ2 home.

~Kanthalos

P.S. Tipa, I’ve never played EQ for more than 30 minutes, so I really have no idea how it works. If you’re interested in working with me to get up to speed and help me understand what’s going on (if you think that’s necessary) then I’d be willing to give it a shot. Send me an e-mail or just comment if you want.

2 comments so far

  1. Tipa on

    Hiya 🙂

    Well, my EQ2 mains are on Befallen, and they are currently guildless. I have a character on Najena, but I have played her like twice. How did my EQ2 characters come to such sad ends?

    EQ1 happened. It turns out EQ1 is so dramatically different now than when we all played, and things go so quickly now, that we were shocked by how much fun we were having. So most of us are pretty much in EQ1.

    We have people joining from scratch all the time. We just had a gnome enchanter join last week, and he’s in his late 30s already as he gets ready to join the Friday group. People who log in and play don’t have any trouble leveling up and there are usually people around who want to group.

    We’ve just decided as a guild that we’re going to stop leveling at 52 while everyone catches up, and then we’re going to kill Nagafen and Vox before we continue our nostalgic journey through old EverQuest.

    So now is actually a fantastic time to start 🙂

  2. Justin on

    If you create a new character and play through the newbie content of RoK (TD) you will be able to get back up into the 20’s in no time. If you want to make a good aligned character, then Gfay is the way to go for a new character.

    as for a server home, if you haven’t decided on a server yet, I want to welcome you to try out Najena. Its a pretty friendly server, that’s not overpopulated. I have a low level guild there, that has mostly died off, because i had left the game for a large amount of time. But since I’m back, I’m going to try and get it rolling again.

    You’re welcome to come an say hi (Tipa, you are too, since you have a char there and all) and give the server a try. Just send a message to Kaedal or Drist


Leave a Reply

