Nine Years Later…

I finally set foot in EverQuest today. Well, that’s not entirely true. I did play for about thirty minutes around 2001, but I was still playing Asheron’s Call, and EverQuest confused me immensely when I first booted it up. That said, I never really gave it a fair shot. Now that it’s 2008, I realize I’m a bit late to the party and I won’t really get the full experience that I would have back when I first tried it, but I still want to check it out.

I finally got it up and running early this morning, so I made a wizard. I ran into a bit of a snag when I jumped into a pool of water and couldn’t seem to find my way out in Felwithe. I looked for close to 15 minutes before I finally gave up and made a new toon. I rolled a necromancer instead and logged in. I got to level four in the Mines of Gloomingdeep before I took a break. It was interesting getting used to some of the settings and differences in gameplay (for instance hailing NPC’s) but it wasn’t too bad and I’m definitely looking forward to playing some more later.

So there’s my beginning as of yet with my necromancer being my main. Have I made a good or bad decision? Is there a class that is much more fun or easy to progress with as my first character in EQ? Let me know what you think or give me any suggestions you have.

~Kanthalos

*I decided to try out a fighter class, so I just got a beserker to level 6. I’m not sure whether I like it or not, but I can’t find any skills to use other than my basic attack. Am I missing something? In any case, I would really love to get some advice before I continue because I don’t want to get invested in either of these characters and find out that I’m messed them up or that they really aren’t worth playing, so please let me know what you think if you have something to contribute.

1 comment so far

  1. Aspendawn on

    Your first character brought back memories of mine all those years ago! I had made a shaman in Halas and attempted to swim across to get out of the city. Never having played an mmo, I couldn’t figure out how to swim and drowned. She got deleted and I started in Kelethin lol.

    Not sure if things have changed but beserkers used to be one of the least played classes because well…they’re not very good at anything. Regarding your skills, for a long while all you will have is just turning on attack. Some may get kick, taunt or bash. A bit later there are some tomes to buy that give you a couple more abilities.

    A monk might be better for your first character. You don’t need to worry about buying weapons and spells. And they do get a few more attacks than other fighters. Necros are good soloers though as are druids. You’ll just have to be buying spells for them. Nothing really that you can mess up. Just go through the combat ability button and drag them to your hot key to make sure you have everything.


Leave a Reply

