What Do You Listen To?

Tipa gave me this idea with her latest post about music, and I thought it would be a good idea to share some of the bands/artists that I listen to that are either slightly obscure/older/completely awesome (in no particular order.) Sorry, Tipa, but I am going to have to steal a few 🙂 I only put up videos for a few of them, and a few are actually just still images because I thought the videos were stupid or they had the best sound quality. In any case, I hope you like them and I encourage you to check out the rest if you haven’t heard of them. I would love to know what some of our fellow bloggers listen to as well.

1. Zero 7 (Electronic’esque)
2. The Shins (60’s sound)
3. Blur (Brit Rock)
4. Travis (Brit Rock)
5. Joshua Radin (think Simon and Garfunkel)


6. Jamie Cullum – Twentysomething


7. Camera Obscura – If Looks Could Kill
8. Silverchair (Rock)


9. Jellyfish – New Mistake


10. The Gabe Dixon Band – Five More Hours


11. Sonata Arctica – Victoria’s Secret
12. Dream Theater (Prog Rock, or Fantasy Metal as I like to call it)
13. Nightwish (Fantasy Metal)
14. The Hush Sound (Indie Rock)
15. The Decemberists (Indie Rock)


16. Dishwalla – Angels and Devils
17. Muse (If you don’t know/like Muse, you probably need to get your head checked 😉 )


18. Nickel Creek – The Lighthouse’s Tale
19. Oscar Peterson (Jazz)
20. The Postal Service (Electronic)
21. Psapp (Electronic’esque)
22. Splender (Rock)
23. Spoon (Rock)


24. Steadman – Wave Goodbye
25. Vertical Horizon (Rock)
26. A Tribe Called Quest (Good, Old-School Rap/Hip-Hop 🙂 )


27. Amos Lee – Keep It Loose, Keep It Tight
28. Ben Folds (Just Plain Awesome)
29. Bond (Techno-Classical?)
30. The 88 (Rock)

~Kanthalos

6 comments so far

  1. Openedge1 on

    Jellyfish – The Ghost at Number One
    (Fave song…hehe)

    The Shins – Relatively new, and a hot property from my understanding…good stuff

    Blur – Brit rock is just cool!

    But sorry
    Radiohead > Muse
    Muse’s vocals seem to get too operatic for my liking…lol. Felt like Muse was there to capitalize on the Radiohead craze when they came out..
    But, they are ok at least…hehe

    Every hear of Sigur Ros?

  2. kanthalos on

    Yeah, I’ve got a little bit of Sigur Ros, but I only listen to it very rarely. I don’t have many songs, though, so I’ll try a few more and see if I like them better.

    P.S. Do you like Bellybutton or Spilt Milk better? I haven’t listened to Spilt Milk a whole lot yet, and I think it’s still great, but I absolutely love Bellybutton. Perhaps that will change over time.

  3. Aaron on

    Awesome. Thanks for the pointers!

    My favorite song by Sonata Arctica is probably the first song I heard by them, “Silver Tongue”, but I like a lot of their stuff.

    If you’re fan of Nightwish and other bands that mix melodic metal with a woman’s voice, you might like Leaves’ Eyes. I love their Vinland Saga album.

    Here’s my list. 🙂

  4. Farao51 on

    AC/DC, KISS, Led Zeppelin, Metallica, Iron Maiden, Guns ‘n’ Roses etc.

    Hard Rock, Heavy Metal and similar.

  5. Tesh on

    Huh. The only one of the bunch I know is Vertical Horizon. I like what I’ve heard of theirs, albeit only a few songs.

    I’m more of a Mitsuda/Uematsu/Sleepthief kind of guy. *shrug*

  6. Danilo Bormet on

    It is possible to best web site to find a blog on?


Leave a Reply

