Change of Plans

After my last post, I was quite happy playing both Atlantica Online and LotRO, but all that has changed.  I haven’t logged into either of those games in about a week.  Care to know why?  It’s because of WoW.  I was checking VirginWorlds first thing in the morning to see that free transfers are up once again.  Argent Dawn, my former server, had been up the previous offer so I didn’t think we would be on twice in a row.  I was wrong, though, and it was.  After debating with my wife for most of the day, we decided to take the transfer along with another guildie (It also didn’t help that 10 of the members left the same night due to a big explosion in the guild.)  So Garrosh bound we were.

This is what I’d really been wanting for a long time.  A new server with all new max-level players.  What better situation could there be for… starting my own guild!  That’s right, I’m a GM now.  The got a bunch of bank alts to sign the charter, and away I was.  The first night was pretty uneventful without too many joining, though there were few players to be found yet.  That all changed the next day, and I think we ended up with 12-15 players.  “Great!” I thought.  We will have enough to do 10-man Naxx.  Apparently that wasn’t going to be enough, though.  Our growth over the past week has provided us with between 45-50 accounts with at least one level 80 toon that is ready to raid Naxx.

Now, it’s one thing to cram a guild full of mediocre, ungeared players who want to be part of a raiding guild, but that clearly isn’t the case here.  Saturday we took out Sartharion on heroic and 10-man, and Sunday we took out the spider wing on heroic.  Many of our players have been in raiding guilds (some as raid leaders) who really know the game.  Last night, one of our naxx teams cleared everything up to sapphiron on their second night, and our second team cleared spider, plague, and military quarters on their first night.  All I have to say is that I’m excited to really push these players because I know they are up to the challenge.

As for the ride, it’s been amazing.  With the help of my wife (co-gm) and a couple officers, it’s been both challenging and fun.  Everyone has been extremely helpful, courteous, and active both in terms of running heroics and raids as well as filling out the guild bank and providing us with a vent server.  I feel closer to some of my guildmates after only a week and a half than many guildmates I was with for nearly a year.  We’ve only had to remove two players from the guild (one was a bit ugly) so I’ve already had to deal with that.  We are still trying to figure out a loot system that will end up working best for all of us, which is far more challenging than I thought it was going to be!  We’ve also had to struggle with finding the right number of raiders/classes.  We don’t have an attendance policy, so we can’t require people to be at the raids, but we need to make sure there are enough people to fill the raid, without having too many extras that they are going to be upset.  This is particularly true with tanks.  We have five tanks in the guild, but last night, we only had two that were on with one saved to the other team’s 10-man run.  Two of the tanks that had actually signed up for our run had trouble making it on, so we ended up having to pug an OT (who actually turned out to be a great help to us!)  So I’m thinking we’ll have to have a few extra tanks just to make sure that we won’t have to go outside the guild in the future.

I know things won’t always be easy, but for now I’m very happy with the way things are going.  I had always wondered what it would be like to be a GM, and now I know.  I’ll say this, though… without officers, it would be far too much for one person to handle!

~Kanthalos

2 comments so far

  1. Tesh on

    The beauty of Atlantica Online is that you don’t have to maintain a subscription if you want to go play something else. Have fun with your guild!

  2. mmorpg games on

    WoW will always be WoW!


Leave a Reply

